Miriam and Bernard H. Sokol Hebrew High School presents the Jewish Teen Project

Miriam and Bernard H. Sokol Hebrew High School presents the Jewish Teen Project

The Jewish Teen Project is a cooperative learning experience for 8-12th graders in partnership with Moriah Congregation. Our teens come together to learn with our incredible clergy and participate in social action projects. Our goals are to engage teens in meaningful conversations that allow them to translate Jewish ethics, values, and practices into their lives and to connect and build relationships with our community and each other.

Join us March 16-19, 2023 for the Maimonides Moot Court Competition in the Pearlstone Retreat Center in Reisterstown, Maryland.

Jewish Teen Project meets on Tuesday evenings in two 8-week  semesters, 1 hour a week from October to March, from 7-8 p.m. Students do NOT need to be members of NSSBE to attend SHHS/The Jewish Project. All Jewish teens are welcome!

Please contact me with any questions!
Ali Drumm, Director of Congregational Learning 847-432-8126 | adrumm@nssbethel.org

Click here to register for the Jewish Teen Project!

 

5783/2022 Fall Session

FIRST 8-WEEK SESSION:

October 25- December 20
Tuesdays 7-8 p.m. at
North Suburban Synagogue Beth El
1175 Sheridan Rd
Highland Park, IL 60035

Fall dates are:

Tuesday October 25, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday November 1, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday November 8, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday November 15, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday November 29, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday December 6, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday December 13, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday December 20, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

 

5783/2023 Winter Session

Students do NOT need to be members of NSSBE to attend SHHS/The Jewish Project. All Jewish teens are welcome!

SECOND 8-Week SESSION:

January 17 - March 7
Tuesdays 7-8 p.m. at Moriah Congregation
200 Taub Dr. Deerfield, IL 60015

Winter dates are:

Tuesday January 17, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday January 24, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday January 31, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday February 7, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday February 14, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday February 28, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday March 7, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday March 14, 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Volunteer Opportunities for Teens

All 8th – 12th Graders are eligible

Be a Teen Leader for Children’s High Holiday Services

Application is part of your family’s seating request for High Holidays. Mandatory meeting on Tuesday August 30th from 7-8 p.m. Contact Ali Drumm with questions at adrumm@nssbethel.org

 

Cohen Religious School

Madrichim (teen assistants) help out on Sunday mornings and/or Tuesday/ Wednesday afternoons by assisting teachers with class activities, being a reading partner, tutoring students and much more! This is a great way to earn community service hours, stand out on college applications, be a stronger candidate for summer jobs and make a positive impact upon Jewish kids!

Questions? Contact Anna Besser at abesser@nssbethel.org.
Interested? Click here to apply.