North Suburban Synagogue Beth El
NSSBE Annual Gala

NSSBE Annual Gala

We Shall Surely Ascend 

Please join us for a community-wide celebration honoring Rabbi Vernon and Bryna Kurtz and the 70th Anniversary of North Suburban Synagogue Beth El in conjunction with the 70th Anniversary of the State of Israel

Sunday, November 4, 2018
5:00 pm – Cocktails and Hors D’oeuvres
6:00 pm Dinner

North Suburban Synagogue Beth El
1175 Sheridan Road, Highland Park, IL 60035

Every family will receive a complimentary copy of Mort Steinberg’s new book Tradition by the Lake: A Historical Outline of North Suburban Synagogue Beth El

  • Entertainment
  • Keepsake Tribute Program/Ad Book
  • Great food, wonderful conversation and heartwarming tributes

Registration and Sponsorship

  • For further information and to register online, click here.
  • If you would like to be an event sponsor, click here.
  • If you would like to pay tribute to Rabbi Kurtz and Bryna in our ad book, click here.
  • If you would like to add a thanks to the staff, click here.

or contact Judy Berkeley, Director of Development, by calling 847-432-0703 or emailing

Kindly RSVP by October 8, 2018.

Dinner Chairs

Wendy & Steve Abrams
Pearl & Joel Kagan
Jenna & David Smiley

Event Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors
Mr. & Mrs. Gilbert Bogen
Lois & Donald Chudacoff
Cheryl & Carey Cooper & Julie & Colman Kraff
Bobbie & Len Tenner

Diamond Sponsors
Barbara & David Hoffman

Gold Sponsors
Gail & Andrew Brown
Judy & Arthur Coren
Nancy & Maury Fertig
Jewish United Fund/Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago
Margaret & Alan Silberman

Silver Sponsors
June Back Frydman
Barbara & Stuart Hochwert
Ramah Camps
Howard Turner

Bronze Sponsors
Susan & Joseph Ament  
Pearl & Joel Kagan
Jane & Scott Lederman
Marcie & Brad Pickard
Robin & David Small

Gala Committee:

Lawrence Becker
Annette & Jerry Blumberg
Leah & Jori Brajer
Gail & Andrew Brown
Iris & Bobby Center
Rachel & Marc Dorfman
Adrienne Eckerling
Kim & Eric Ephraim
Wendi & Michael Ezgur
Ruth Fisher
Elise & Ira Frost
Nina & Mark Gaines
Stacy & Jeff Goldsmith
Debby & Ron Hahamy
Jennifer & Josh Herz
Marilyn Hirsch and Gary Gordon
Barbara & Stuart Hochwert
Helene & Herb Isaacs
Karen & Michael Kesner
Diane & Steve Levin
Marcie & Ken Levin
Arielle & Victor Levitan
Erica & Zachary Lindon
Sheryl & Stuart Lipnick
Dina & Trevor Lissoos
Jackie & Michael Melinger
Michelle Gooze-Miller & Adam Miller
Danielle & Jonathan Pearl
Marcie & Brad Pickard
Debra Rade
Holly & Jonathan Reinsdorf
Lisa & Jeff Rosenkranz
Pamela & Richard Schlosberg
Lynn & Skip Schrayer
Frances & Steve Shapiro
Marilyn & Rod Slutzky
Sandy Starkman & Larry Pachter
Mira & Darryl Temkin
Bobbie & Len Tenner
Howard Turner
Diane & Loren Weil
Larry Weiner
Judy & Richard Zelin*

Publicity Chair:

Mira Temkin

Ad Book Chair:

Arielle Levitan

Ad Book Committee:

Dana Atlas, Leah Brajer, Kim Ephraim, Stacy Goldsmith, Dina Lissoos, Jackie Melinger, Sandy Starkman

Please Note:

In conjunction with our gala celebration, we invite you to please consider being one of our gala sponsors and/or participating in our Ad Book. Every sponsorship option comes with a full-page ad. Historically, the Ad Book has been vital to our fundraising success and provides an opportunity to include your personal, professional and/or familial wishes and gratitude to our congregation and to the Kurtz’s.

Please see the Sponsorship, Staff honor page form and Ad Book fliers, where you can purchase ad space, personalize your ad, and choose the placement of your ad.  You also have the opportunity to include your name on a full page spread honoring our staff, where you can extend your heartfelt appreciation to the Clergy, Directors, Office and School staff. A form for this is also attached.

Please take the time to review the fliers and consider placing an ad of your choice by the deadline of October 1, 2018.  If you have any questions, please contact Judy Berkeley at or 847-432-0703.